Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas

Hello from Vegas! It has been a mellow trip to sin city. I am here with my parents and my aunt to celebrate my mom’s birthday. While the adults are out and about most of the day, I am spending my hours relaxing in my hotel room or going to a local bar to watch the Olympic games (Go Team USA). I’ve done about everything there is to do on the Vegas Strip from clubs to gambling to eating at the best master chief restaurants. The only thing left to do is to walk to the “Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas” sign.

The sign is located about 1 mile from the Las Vegas McCarran International Airport which is on the south end of the Las Vegas Strip. The closest hotel (that is located on the strip) is Mandalay Bay. I took the free tram from Excalibur to Mandalay Bay. Las Vegas can get very hot so I always opt in for the tram. There are 3 free trams that run throughout the Vegas strip:

  • Bellagio/CityCenter/Monte Carlo Tram (runs every 15 mins, 8:00 AM to 4:00 AM)
  • Mirage and Treasure Island Tram (runs every 10 to 15 mins, 9:00 AM to 1:00 AM)
  • Mandalay Bay/Luxor/Excalibur Tram (runs every 5 to 10 mins, 7:00 AM to 10:30 PM)

There are other ways to get to the sign. You can also take a taxi or drive directly to the sign. There is a small parking lot located right in front of the sign for your convenience.

The walk to the sign from Mandalay Bay took about 10 to 15 minutes. Once you see the sign, be careful when you cross the street. There are no pedestrian crosswalk and cars do drive by pretty fast. I went around 3PM and there was a small line of people waiting to capture a moment right in front of the famous sign. If you don’t want to wait in the line, you can either snap a photo from the side or just take one with individuals in the background. I waited in the short line. Even if you’re traveling alone to the sign like I was, there are always people there willing to snap a picture for you. You can either ask a local who will snap several photos for tips or ask the person behind you. I just tipped the local a dollar for the perfect photo.

What are some of your favorite things to do in Las Vegas?

Leave a comment