Bucket List: Things I Accomplished in 2013

I’m currently contemplating of all the places that I could go next week for my 1 week vacation. Last month, I wanted to go on a trip where I could relax and not do anything simply because the holiday season has been quite stressful for me. This month, I want to do something outrageous, maybe a bucket list worthy experience. I thought about white water rafting in Costa Rica, going zip lining through the jungles/rain forest, going on a safari in Africa, or even holding a koala in Austrailia (childhood dream). As, I sit here planning my trip, I can’t help but think of all the incredible things that I’ve done in the past year. Here are my 5 bucket list accomplishments in 2013.

1. Traveling alone

Paris, France | July 2013

I’ve always wanted to travel alone but I never muster up enough courage to do so. I booked a spontaneous flight to Paris, left the following day and forced myself to see Paris alone. Realized that I do prefer traveling alone but I wouldn’t do Paris again. My experience in Paris is unlike any other and maybe I’ll share with you the crazy events that happened during my week stay in Paris.

DSC_0266

2. Ceilidh Dancing in Scotland

Edinburgh, Scotland | Oct 2013

I think ceilidh dancing is the most exciting form of dance that ever existed. I had a blast dancing even though I absolutely have no idea what I was doing. My partner was a better dancer than I was and I had a background in dance! Despite of my lack of coordination, I would do this again and again.

IMG_2545

3. Sailing in Hawaii

Honolulu, Hawaii, USA | November 2013

I went to Hawaii a few months ago to visit some friends. One of my good friends from high school took me sailing and it was very exhilarating. I love every minute of it.

IMG_2774

4. Fly First Class

Dublin, Ireland | October 2013

I got upgraded to first class on my flight from Dublin to JFK! During the flight, we were offered a 5 course meal, a seat that rolls out into a bed, and of course unlimited drinks. I never slept so well on a flight in my entire life and I never want to travel coach ever again.. if only that was possible.

5. Hiking at the Yosemite

Yosemite Village, CA, USA | June 2013

The most intense hike I’ve ever done was at the Yosemite National Park in California… on my own. My friends ditched me to fend for myself. Thanks guys.. but I did it and I’m proud of myself. I would love to visit all the national parks here in the states. Yellowstone, you’re next!

IMG_1813

 

I’m hoping that this year, I will be able to experience more bucket list moments. For now, back to the drawing board.

Where should I go and what activity should I experience next week?

9 Comments

  1. What a great year! So many fabulous spots in the world. How about cycling in Europe. We have had some fabulous adventures in Italy, Turkey, Spain and Slovenia on two wheels.

    Reply

    1. I need to brush up on my cycling skill but it is on my list of things to do. I’m terrified of going down a big hill so hopefully I can work my way up to those. Did you do bike tours or did you map out your own routes?

      Reply

      1. We have always travelled with Nichols Expeditions. Being able to focus on the cycling and having them providing support, booking of lodging, organizing meals….for us a perfect way to go.

  2. I love that you actually have a bucket list! I do too! I love the feeling that I get once I cross it off… of course savor the sweet memories afterwards too. Cheers to you! Looking forward to following along. Feel free to check out our blog too!

    Reply

    1. Great blog! I should try some of the recipes!
      I have a few things on my bucket list as a starter for me to try new things. It’s not everything I want to do, but it’s a start. I’m hoping that I get to cross more things off this year. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a comment